Google+ Followers

Friday, 1 August 2014

Canberra Declaration on Gaza

Canberra Declaration on Gaza

The Canberra Declaration on Gaza

We the undersigned members of Australian federal and state
parliaments, call on all Australian politicians to condemn the ongoing
Israeli military bombardment and invasion of Gaza.

We call on Australian politicians to support an immediate cessation
of hostilities and a ceasefire deal which includes an end to Israel's
occupation of the Palestinian territories and to the blockade of Gaza.

We call on all Australian politicians to also support the United
Nations Human Rights Council's decision to launch an independent inquiry
into purported violations of international humanitarian and human
rights laws in the Occupied Palestinian Territory, including East

Over 1200* Palestinians in Gaza have been killed, since Israel
started its military attack on Gaza three weeks ago. The United Nations
says at least 75 percent of the dead are civilians, including an
estimated 168 children. In the last two days, Palestinian children have
been killed at a rate of one per hour.

The rockets fired from Gaza are not in any way justified and insofar
as they threaten and harm civilians are illegal under international law.
However, these imprecise rockets cannot be compared with the
broad-scale bombing of Gaza by Israel which has one of the world's
largest military forces.

Collective punishment is not permitted under the Geneva conventions and is a war crime.

Hospitals, places of worship, and a centre for people with disabilities have been among the Israeli military's targets.

The United Nations Relief and Works Agency (UNRWA) is providing shelter to more than 102,788 Palestinians in the Gaza Strip.

The international community including Australia has a vital
responsibility to put pressure on Israel to end its current military
attack on Gaza and broker a solution of justice and peace.

*updated 30 July 2014

Signed by -

  1. Maria Vamvakinou MP, Labor
  2. Melissa Parke MP, Labor
  3. Laurie Ferguson MP, Labor
  4. Alan Griffin MP, Labor
  5. Sharon Claydon MP, Labor
  6. Adam Bandt MP, Greens
  7. Barbara Perry MP, Labor
  8. Andrew Giles MP, Labor
  9. Paul Lynch MP, Labor
  10. Jamie Parker MP, Greens
  11. Lynda Voltz MLC, Labor 
  12. Shaoquett Moselmane MLC, Labor
  13. David Shoebridge MLC, Greens
  14. Dr Mehreen Faruqi MLC, Greens
  15. Dr John Kaye MLC, Greens
  16. Jeremy Buckingham MLC, Greens
  17. Jan Barham MLC, Greens
  18. Senator Claire Moore, Labor
  19. Senator Nick Xenophon, Independent
  20. Senator Christine Milne, Greens
  21. Senator Lee Rhiannon, Greens
  22. Senator Sarah Hanson-Young, Greens
  23. Senator Larissa Waters, Greens
  24. Senator Janet Rice, Greens
  25. Senator Richard Di Natale, Greens
  26. Senator Penny Wright, Greens
  27. Senator Rachel Siewert, Greens
  28. Senator Scott Ludlam, Greens
  29. Senator Peter Whish-Wilson, Greens
  30. Senator Sue Lines, Labor
  31. Tammy Franks MLC, Greens
  32. Graham Perrett MP, Labor
  33. Senator Anne Urquhart, Labor
  34. Terri Butler MP, Labor
  35. Julie Owens MP, Labor
  36. Lisa Chesters MP, Labor
  37. Senator Gavin Marshall, Labor
  38. Senator Anne McEwen , Labor
  39. Senator Carol Brown, Labor
  40. Senator Doug Cameron, Labor
  41. Cassy O’Connor MLA, Greens
  42. Senator Jan McLucas, Labor
  43. Lynn MacLaren MLC, Greens
  44. Jill Hall MP, Labor
  45. Jackie Trad MP, Labor
  46. Malcolm Fraser, former Liberal Prime Minister
  47. Shane Rattenbury MLA, Greens
  48. Yvette Berry MLA, Labor
  49. Bronwyn Halfpenny MP, Labor
  50. Tony Piccolo MP, Labor
  51. Andrew Wilkie MP, Independent
  52. Senator Lisa Singh, Labor
  53. Khalil Eideh MP, Labor
  54. Lee Tarlamis MP, Labor
  55. Johan Scheffer MP, Labor
  56. Katrine Hildyard MP, Labor
  57. Janine Freeman MLA, Labor
  58. Amanda Fazio MLC, Labor
  59. Mary Porter MLA, Labor
  60. Ian Hunter MLC, Labor
  61. Stephanie Key MP, Labor
Any Australian politician who would like to add their name to
this letter may contact the office of Melissa Parke or Senator Lee
Rhiannon: or


No comments:

Post a Comment